IOC – International Olympic Committee

On the occasion of the 105th session of the International Olympic Committee in Atlanta from 15th to 18th July 1996 the International Life Saving Federation (ILS) received recognition, pursuant to rule 29 of the Olympic Charter, from the International Olympic Committee. Before that, the ILS was a Recognised International Organisation.

The International Olympic Movement (IOC)

The Olympic Movement is a world-wide organisation created in 1894 in Paris – France whose vital mission is to propagate the Olympic spirit in all its forms. The Olympic Movement is composed of:

  • The International Olympic Committee (IOC)
  • The International Sports Federations (IF)
    • The Olympic Summer Sport Federations regrouped in the ASOIF.
    • The Olympic Winter Sport Federations regrouped in the AIOWF.
    • The IOC Recognised International Sport Federations regrouped in the ARISF.
    • The Non-Olympic Recognised Federations regrouped in the AIMS.
  • The National Olympic Committees (NOC).
  • The Host Cities of the Olympic Games (OGOC).

The goal of the Olympic Movement is to contribute to building a peaceful and better world by educating youth through sport practised without discrimination or any kind, in a spirit of friendship, solidarity and fair play.

The International Life Saving Federation is recognised by the IOC and is a full and voting member of the Association of IOC Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF).