National Championships

Most member nations of ILS organise National Lifesaving Championships with both pool and beach/ocean events. Records can be set if the organisers comply with the ILS sanctioning rules.

Regional Championships

European Championships

The ILS European Region organise the Lifesaving European Championships every two years. These Championships comprise both pool and surf/ocean events. The Championship is organised in the odd years between the Lifesaving World Championships.

European Records can be found on the on the DLRG website. The competition rules of the European Region in ILS are very similar to the ILS Competition rules except for the elements that are typically linked to Regional conditions.

Junior European Championships

The Lifesaving European Championships for Juniors (max. 18 years of age) are organised under the aegis of ILS-Europe and are held every year and comprise both pool and surf-beach events.

Multi-Sports Events

Lifesaving sport is included in several international multi-sport events such as:

The World Games

The International World Games Association (IWGA) organises the World Games every four years, one year after the Summer Olympic Games.

The World Games are often called the “Olympic” Games for the non-Olympic Sports and were first held in Santa Clara (USA) in 1981. The Games are a Multi-Sport Event where over 30 Sports are organised during a period of 14 Days. Lifesaving Sports (both pool and beach-surf) are on the programme since its second edition in London in 1985. The lifesaving competition lasts three days: two days in the pool and one day on the beach-surf. The ten best lifesaving teams in the World can participate in these top Games and the selection is made at the World Championships one year before holding the Games.

  • 2021: Birmingham, Alabama (USA)
  • 2017: Wroclaw (Poland)
  • 2013: Cali (Colombia)
  • 2009: Kaochiung (Chinese Taipei)
  • 2005: Duisburg (Germany)
  • 2001: Akita (Japan)
  • 1997: Lahti (Finland)
  • 1993: Den Haag (Netherlands)
  • 1989: Kahrsruhe (Germany)
  • 1985: London (United Kingdom)
  • 1981: Santa Clara (USA)

Military World Games and Military World Championships

The International Military Sports Council (CISM) organises the Military Lifesaving World Championships and the Military World Games.

World Masters Games

The World Masters Games is an international multi-sport tournament for athletes of ages beyond young adulthood. The games are held every four years, and are sponsored by the International Masters Games Association (IMGA). Lifesaving will be on the programme of the 2021 World Masters Games that will be held in Kansai, Japan.

Commonwealth Championships

The Commonwealth Championships are Championships where only Commonwealth nations can participate. The Championships are ILS sanctioned events.