World Games medals on offer tonight for Australian lifesavers

Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei, Friday: The Australian Lifesaving team put in another strong team performance in this morning’s qualifying heats at the Kaohsiung International Aquatic Centre.

Team Manager, Jeannie Baxter-Reid said the results were very encouraging and will allow the team to build on yesterday’s strong start to the competition.

“Yesterday we demonstrated what strong all-round performances we are capable of as a team, and this morning we have laid the foundation for another good night tonight, with the possibility of some individual medals,” she said.

Finals commence tonight at 17:00h local time (19:00h AEST) and conclude at 18:30h (20;30h AEST) with Australians in the running for three of the four individual medals on offer.

Sarah Windsor (1:18.73) and Jenny Parry (1;19.95), both recovering from illnesses in recent days, qualified second and fourth fastest for the 100m female rescue medley.

In the male 100m manikin carry with fins, Mitch Parkes (0:51.40) and Andrew Bowden (0:52.24) qualified fifth and sixth fastest behind Italy’s Simone Procaccia, who broke a games record with a 0:48.95 swim.

Bowden continued his good form at this event qualifying seventh fastest for the A final of the 100m rescue medley in 1:06.77, behind New Zealand’s Steven Kent who qualified first in 1:04.23.

Despite the New Zealand team starting in only two A finals, every point will be needed to hold off their challenge, so Felysia Konakof, Naomi Flood and Jenny Parry will be looking for strong finishes in the B final of the 100 manikin carry.

Konakoff will also be wearing the gold cap in the B final of the 100m rescue medley and Luke Harper and Chris Allum are in the men’s B final.

Flood, Konakof, Kristyl Smith and Windsor make up the 4x50m Medley Relay, and although medals are not on offer, the Chinese are expected to set a blistering pace.

Shire boy Chris Allum, Bowden, captain Shannon Eckstein and Mitch Parkes are in the male relay.

Ocean events begin tomorrow (Saturday) at 10:00h local time (12:00h AEST) and conclude at 17:45h (19:45h AEST).