The International Lifesaving Federation (ILS) is the world authority for drowning prevention, lifesaving and lifesaving sport. ILS leads, supports and collaborates with national and international organisations engaged in drowning prevention, water safety, water rescue, lifesaving, lifeguarding and lifesaving sport.


Invitation to bid for the rights to host the 2020 Lifesaving World Championships

The ILS Board of Directors invites the Full Member organisations of ILS or Host Cities/Groups/Agencies/Organisations, preferably in cooperation with an ILS Full Member, to submit a Bid Lodgement to host the 2020 Lifesaving World Championships, abbreviated “Rescue 2020”.

The Lifesaving World Championship is the most important competitive event of the International Lifesaving Federation, organised every two years. It must satisfy many requirements and the goals of ILS.

15 June 2016 is the deadline to submit a Bid Lodgement.

Cyprus International Certificates

The ILS Rescue Commission has approved the Cyprus Life Saving Federation's application for accreditation of awards. The equivalency table is posted at

Referees/Technical Officials Lifesaving World Championships

The ILS Sport Commission is calling for applications from suitable qualified and experienced Referees/Technical Officials who wish to be considered to officiate at the various Lifesaving World Championships to be in Eindhoven (pool) and Noordwijk-aan-Zee (ocean and beach) in the Netherlands in September 2016. Details are set out in the attached notice and application form.

Applications should be sent to ILS Sport Commission, to arrive not later than the by 1st September, 2015 by:

  • E-mail:
  • Postal Mail: The Secretary: ILS Sport Commission, P O Box 572, Underberg 3257, South Africa
  • Fax: +27 (0)31 312 5612, Attention: Jelle Meintsma

Officials Panels

The ILS Sport Commission at their recent meeting held on 22/24 May, 2015 in Leuven Belgium appointed the following groups: Championships Officials Panel and Officials Assessment Panel.

Referees 2016 Lifesaving World Championships

The ILS Sport Commission has appointed the following persons to the positions of Chief Referee and Deputy Chief Referee for the 2016 Lifesaving World Championships to be held in Noordwijk-aan-Zee (Ocean events) and Eindhoven (Pool events) from 1st to 18 September, 2016.

National Team Pool: Jerry Polesel (Chief) and Anni Gardiner and Birgit Gotker (Deputies); InterClub Pool: Elaine Lewis (Chief) and Jo Teagle and Don van Keimpema (Deputies); Masters Pool: Roz Greg (Chief and Stephanie Andrews and Clare McGrath (Deputies); National and InterClub SERC: Perry Smith (Chief) and Albert Blokland and Roz Grey (Deputies).